Urban Futures


The Covid-19 pandemic will have a lasting legacy on our high streets and town centres. It has largely accelerated trends that were already emerging.

Working closely with private and public sector clients we are exploring what's next for our complex urban areas?

At Avison Young we have been closely involved in the process of re-opening our centres on behalf of both public and private sector clients. But we also continue to be involved in longer term decision making as we consider the restructuring and reimagination of the high street. This long term outlook is critical, and it is important that the immediate term decisions we make in ensuring our centres are attractive and safe spaces do not preclude or prejudice long term change being realised.

We have identified three timeframes of thought process under which we are exploring a series of common challenges with our clients, captured in broad terms as:

For more information please contact:

Nicola Rigby Principal Planning, Development and Regeneration +44(0) 161 956 4201 +44(0) 7962 351 247 nicola.rigby@avisonyoung.com

Martyn Saunders Director Planning, Development and Regeneration +44(0) 20 7911 2037 +44(0) 7903 806 129 martyn.saunders@avisonyoung.com

Lydia Ellis Head of Destination Marketing Real Estate Management +44(0) 161 956 8058 +44(0) 7770 934 185 lydia.ellis@avisonyoung.com

Derick Jackson Principal Real Estate Management +44(0) 191 269 0516 +44(0) 7879 686 419 derick.jackson@avisonyoung.com

Stephen Cowperthwaite Principal Head of Retail +44(0) 151 471 6734 +44(0) 7768 746 029 stephen.cowperthwaite@avisonyoung.com

Laura Stamboulieh Principal Public Sector Strategic Advisory +44(0) 117 988 5343 +44(0) 7769 937 002 laura.stamboulieh@avisonyoung.com

The spread of COVID-19 and the containment policies being introduced are changing rapidly, and some of the views expressed herein may not reflect the latest opinion of Avison Young. These sources provide regularly updated information on the COVID-19 outbreak: World Health Organization, Government of Canada, U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, UK Government, Johns Hopkins University COVID-19 Case Tracker.