Evolving Markets

Online discussions

Given the fast pace of change happening across our markets, industry and legislation we're hosting live webinars focusing on the outlook for key markets across the UK in the wake of the COVID-19 crisis.

These will provide you with an up-to-date assessment of the impact on the commercial real estate market and invites you to pose questions to our expert panels.

Stay Well. Stay Tuned. Stay Informed

Register here to be the first to know about our upcoming webinars and virtual events.

Missed a session? Scroll down to view our recordings.

REGISTER FOR OUR UPCOMING WEBINARS

MISSED ONE? Click below to see our webinar recordings

This video has been disabled until you accept marketing cookies.Manage your preferences here or directly accept targeting cookies

Evolving Cities:

Garden Communities - Building long term quality

Tuesday 14 July 2020, 10:00 – 11:00 (BST)

This webinar will seek to consider how Garden Communities can deliver places of both quality and scale to respond to our current housing needs whilst having stewardship principles at their core. The panel debate will share critical thinking across both the public and private sector and will explore what role all parties play in ensuring the delivery of high quality and sustainable places which are built for the benefit of both current and future generations.


Featuring insights and views from our panel of experts:

Jane Manning, Director, Allies and Morrison Euan Hall, Chief Executive, The Land Trust Scot Morrison, Partner, Pinsent Masons Richard Coppell, Development Director, Urban & Civic plc Martyn Saunders, Director, Avison Young Adam Walker, Co-Founder, CRATE Places UK Chair: Gerry Hughes, President, Avison Young

This video has been disabled until you accept marketing cookies.Manage your preferences here or directly accept targeting cookies

Evolving Cities:

Dive, Survive or Thrive - Shaping successful town centres for the future

Thursday 18 June 2020, 10:00 – 11:00 (BST)

For many already challenged town centres there is now more than ever a clear need to do something different. Creating town centres that work for everyone and that put communities back at their heart will have a hugely positive social impact, creating a place where people want to be; to work, to live, to experience, to enjoy and to play.


Featuring insights and views from our panel of experts:

Vivienne King, Chief Executive Officer, Revo Paul Wright, Director, NewRiver REIT Ltd Mike Riddell, Director, Counter Community

Joanne Nugent, Place Development Manager, Walsall MBC Stuart Barnes, Head of Economic Growth and Housing, Sefton Council Chair: Stephen Cowperthwaite, Principal, Avison Young

This video has been disabled until you accept marketing cookies.Manage your preferences here or directly accept targeting cookies

Evolving Cities:

Garden communities - driving housing delivery

Tuesday 9 June 2020, 10:00 – 11:00 (BST)

Along with the Pinsent Masons’ Real Estate team and Allies & Morrison, we are hosting the second of our series of events exploring the role in which Garden Communities may play in accelerating the recovery of the housing market.


Featuring insights and views from our panel of experts:

Kimberley Grieveson, Director, Avison Young Tim Atkins, MD of Place and Growth, Cheltenham Borough Council Antje Saunders, Director, Allies and Morrison

Iain Gilbey, Partner, Pinsent Masons

Richard Coppell, Group Development Director, Urban & Civic plc Lord Matthew Taylor, Goss Moor Chair: Richard Ford, Partner, Pinsent Masons

This video has been disabled until you accept marketing cookies.Manage your preferences here or directly accept targeting cookies

Evolving Cities:

Accelerating recovery and building resilience

Monday 1 June 2020, 11:00 – 12noon (BST)

The session will explore what is being done to understand COVID-19 impacts; the challenges and opportunities faced and the plans to respond to them in a positive way.


Featuring insights and views from our panel of experts:

Tony Reeves, Chief Executive, Liverpool City Council Angela Barnicle, Chief Officer, Asset Management and Regeneration, Leeds City Council Chris Murray, Director, Core Cities Group Chair: Stuart Howie, Principal and Head of Regeneration, Avison Young

This video has been disabled until you accept marketing cookies.Manage your preferences here or directly accept targeting cookies

Evolving Markets:

Spotlight on Healthcare

Thursday 14 May 2020, 10:00 – 11:00 (BST)

Our panel of experts looked at the impact on the Healthcare real estate market, and shared what they are currently experiencing. With views on how investments, developments, valuations, and rent reviews are progressing in this unprecedented time and what the market will need to do to adapt going forward.


Featuring insights and views from our panel of experts:

Iain Lock, Principal and Managing Director – Health Frank Convery, Principal – Health Rob Hearle, Director – Health Charlotte Brierley, Associate Director – Health

Chair: Daryl Perry, Director & UK Head of Research

This video has been disabled until you accept marketing cookies.Manage your preferences here or directly accept targeting cookies

Evolving Markets:

Spotlight on Business Rates

Tuesday 12 May 2020, 10:00 – 11:00 (BST)

Our panel looked at the repercussions for occupiers who continue to pay business rates for largely vacant buildings as they operate homeworking and also considered the challenges for landlords and investors with vacant space but who continue to face rate liabilities for space that cannot be let.


Featuring insights and views from our panel of experts:

David Jones, Managing Director - Business rates Gareth Buckley, Principal & Head - Empty Rates Mitigation Thomas Stratton, Principal & President of the Rating Surveyors Association Miles Marten, Managing Director - Retail

Chaired by Daryl Perry, Director & UK Head of Research

This video has been disabled until you accept marketing cookies.Manage your preferences here or directly accept targeting cookies

Evolving Markets:

Spotlight on Housing

Thursday 7 May 2020, 10:00 – 11:00 (BST)

Our panel of experts provided an overview on the impact of COVID-19 on the housing market. We will consider the impact throughout property lifecycle, including land, development and planning as well as discussing what the industry can do in the short and long term to adapt as the need for housing changes.


Featuring insights and views from our panel of experts:

Richard Stonehouse, Principal - Residential Investment Kim Grieveson, Director - Development Consultancy Barney Hillsdon, Principal- Land & Development Conor Vallelly, Director - Planning

Chaired by Joshua Rose-Nokes, Consultant - Research

This video has been disabled until you accept marketing cookies.Manage your preferences here or directly accept targeting cookies

Evolving Markets:

Reopening your workplace

Wednesday 6 May 2020, 14:00 – 15:00 (BST)

As we look to the future post-lockdown, the return to the workplace continues to be a highly debated topic. In the next session of our Evolving Markets series, this workplace webinar will focus on the key challenges our clients are facing, the process of returning to a work environment, an insight into our approach and experiences so far, and what impact this may have on offices in the future.


Featuring insights and views from our panel of experts:

Cerys Jones, Director - Workplace & Facilities Management Liz Clements, Director - Workplace Strategy & Change Simon Miller, Chief Operating Officer Tony Burchett, Managing Director - Workplace Arts & Culture

Chaired by Daryl Perry, Director & UK Head of Research

This video has been disabled until you accept marketing cookies.Manage your preferences here or directly accept targeting cookies

Evolving Markets:

Spotlight on Offices

Tuesday 28 April 2020, 10:00 – 11:00 (BST)

Our panel of experts provide an overview of what they are experiencing in the market, including occupier demand and investment activity in the Central London and Big Nine office markets.


Featuring insights and views from our panel of experts:

Charles Toogood, Managing Director, National Offices & Lease Advisory Jeremy Prosser, Principal, City Agency

Chris Gore, Principal, Central London Investment

Chris Dumas, Principal, Workplace Arts and Culture

Chaired by Daryl Perry, Director & UK Head of Research

This video has been disabled until you accept marketing cookies.Manage your preferences here or directly accept targeting cookies

Evolving Markets:

Spotlight on Hotels

Thursday 23 April 2020, 10:00 – 11:00 (BST)

Our panel of experts provide an overview of trading and development in the hotels sector, the impact of COVID-19 on owners and occupiers as well as looking forward to what the future might hold. 


Featuring insights and views from our panel of experts:

Richard Gaunt, Principal - Hotels James Williamson, Director, Hotels Pippa Harrison, Director, Hotels Ian Elliott , Principal, Hotels

Chaired by Daryl Perry, Director & UK Head of Research

This video has been disabled until you accept marketing cookies.Manage your preferences here or directly accept targeting cookies

Evolving Markets:

Spotlight on Leisure

Thursday 16 April 2020, 10:00 – 11:00 (BST)

The UK Leisure Market has felt the instant impact of social distancing measures and the closure pubs, restaurants, and similar venues by the UK Government in response to the COVID-19 crisis. For a market built around social gathering, our experts talk through their experience so far and what the future might hold.


Featuring insights and views from our panel of experts: Gavin Brent, Principal & Managing Director - Leisure Mark Ebo, Director - Leisure Duncan Good, Director - Occupier Solutions

Chaired by Daryl Perry, Director & UK Head of Research

This video has been disabled until you accept marketing cookies.Manage your preferences here or directly accept targeting cookies

Evolving Markets:

Spotlight on Retail

Thursday 9 April 2020, 10:00 – 11:00 (BST)

The UK retail market has faced major challenges in recent years and the current crisis could hardly have come at a worse time for the sector. On 9th April 2020, in the first of our webinar series, our experts focused on the UK retail market and what the future might hold.


Featuring insights and views from our panel of experts: Miles Marten, Principal & Managing Director - Retail Peter O'Brien, Principal & Managing Director - Valuation Guy Thompson, Principal - Real Estate Management William Blockley, Principal - Business Rates

Chaired by Nick Axford, Principal & Global Head of Research

The spread of COVID-19 and the containment policies being introduced are changing rapidly. While information in the briefing notes is current as of the date written, the views expressed herein are subject to change and may not reflect the latest opinion of Avison Young. Like all of you, Avison Young relies on government and related sources for information on the COVID-19 outbreak. We have provided links to some of these sources, which provide regularly updated information on the COVID-19 outbreak. The content provided herein is not intended as investment, tax, financial or legal advice and should not be relied on as such.